Annual Awards Celebration

Annual Awards Celebration

Each year, typically in the fall, Destination Missoula hosts an annual awards celebration. This is a time for our partners to get together and socialize over great food, drinks, and live entertainment. During this celebration we also recognize and honor businesses and/or individuals who have accomplished something that has enhanced our tourism community and local economy. Our tourism awards include: 

The Jay Award

The Jay Award is given annually to an individual or organization within the greater community who best exemplifies a lasting contribution to the tourism industry.  This award is named in honor of Jay Robson, our first recipient. Jay was a former President of DM and he worked tirelessly to get the TBID implemented in Missoula.

Past recipients include: Jay Robson, Jennifer Straughan (Missoula Marathon), Marty Rehbein (TBID), Ramona Holt (Years of Service to Industry), Tia Troy (SoMeTUS13 Campaign), Brenda Wilkins (Facilitating Board Retreat re culture change), Linda McCarthy (Longevity on Board, Wayfinding, Downtown Master Plan), Theresa Cox (Founding Director/Director of A Carousel for Missoula), Top Hat; The Wilma; Kettlehouse Amphitheater; Ogren Park at Allegience Field; University of Montana Music Venues; and Caras Park/River City Roots Festival (contribution to Missoula’s music industry), Miss Montana to Normandy (Global awareness of Missoula and humanitarian aide).

President's Award

This award recognizes an individual or organization who has made a significant contribution to the mission of Destination Missoula and our community at large in the areas where our businesses and industry are generally affected.  (Given at President’s discretion.  Not necessarily an annual award).

Past recipients include: Matt Ellis, Dan Carlino, Bob Terrazas, Missoulian; KECI TV; Townsquare Media; and Windfall Studio (SoMETUS13 Campaign), Brad Murphy (Sports Commission work), Christine Johnson (Hospitality Committee and Sports Commission work), Matt Doucette (Committee work), Celebrity Night Planning Committee, Michael McGill (Creating and Chairing the Arts Committee), Tim Giesler (work expanding and renewing the TBID).

Volunteer of the Year Award

The Volunteer of the Year Award is an honor presented by the Destination Missoula/Missoula TBID staff to recognize an individual who provided outstanding volunteer service to his/her committee or community during the past fiscal year. 

Past recipients include: Jeff Lowry, Dan Carlino (TBID Expansion), Barbara Gauch (Visitor Center and Event work).

Heroes of Hospitality

A recognition and celebration of the incredible individuals who make up Missoula's hospitality industry. This award is a way for Destination Missoula and the Missoula Tourism Business Improvement District to share in their stories and invite the greater Missoula community to join us in thanking them for their commitment to providing the best Missoula experience to our visitors. Learn more here. 

Past recipients include: Bob-Be Sparks (Holiday Inn Missoula Downtown)